Creating volumes

Added by Nappy Dee over 2 years ago

Hi all,

I am new to nexentastor and this product appears very straight forward but I have one question on volume creation.

I have an HP DL380 with my external drives attached to a RAID controller. Do I create y RAID array on the HP controller first or do I allow nexentastor to see the raw drives attached to the controller?

Replies

RE: Creating volumes - Added by Reuben Bryant over 2 years ago

Hello, It is best to allow Nexentastor see the raw disks. I am running an HP DL380 G6, I needed to put in an LSI 9200 HBA before it would see the raw disks. The on board controller passed a logical (RAID 1) drive to Nexentastor but not the raw disks.

I hope this helps.

Reuben

RE: Creating volumes - Added by Nappy Dee over 2 years ago

Makes sense. A followup question. My raid card has 512mb of onboard cache. Does this cache become unsable in the system? On 2012-03-11 8:10 PM, "NexentaStor.org" tracker@nexentastor.org wrote:

http://www.nexentastor.org/boards/1/topics/5506 Reuben Bryant

Hello, It is best to allow Nexentastor see the raw disks. I am running an HP DL380 G6, I needed to put in an LSI 9200 HBA before it would see the raw disks. The on board controller passed a logical (RAID 1) drive to Nexentastor but not the raw disks.

I hope this helps.

Reuben

-- You have received this notification because you have either subscribed to it, or are involved in it. To change your notification preferences, please click here: http://www.nexentastor.org/my/account

RE: Creating volumes - Added by Reuben Bryant over 2 years ago